Policy Framework

Between 2000 and 2002, the Treasury Board of Canada approved a policy framework for the management of federal contaminated sites. The framework was a collection of policies and best practices to guide custodians in the management of federal contaminated sites and was accompanied by the public release of the Federal Contaminated Sites Inventory (FCSI).

Currently, policy direction for the management of federal contaminated sites is contained in the Treasury Board Policy on the Management of Real Property, in effect since November 2006. The objective of the policy is to ensure that federal real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner throughout its life cycle to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs. The policy outlines a number of requirements related to environmental considerations in the management of federal real property, including the management of federal contaminated sites.

The accounting for remediation liabilities related to contaminated sites is driven by the accounting policies of the Government of Canada, which are based on the accounting standards set by the Public Sector Accounting Board and by the Policy on Management of Real Property and its associated directives, standards, guides and relevant legislation.

Other Related Treasury Board Policies and Guidance:

Key federal legislation:

Cadre stratégique

Entre 2000 et 2002, le Conseil du Trésor du Canada a approuvé un cadre stratégique pour la gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux. Il s'agissait d'un ensemble de politiques et de pratiques exemplaires visant à guider les gardiens dans la gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux. Dans la même foulée, l'Inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux était rendu public.

À l'heure actuelle, l'orientation stratégique pour la gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux est présentée dans la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor, entrée en vigueur en novembre 2006. La politique a pour objectif de veiller à ce que les biens immobiliers fédéraux soient gérés de manière durable et responsable sur le plan financier pendant toute la durée de leur cycle de vie afin d'assurer une prestation rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux. La politique donne un aperçu d'un certain nombre d'exigences en matière d‘environnement à considérer dans le contexte de la gestion des biens immobiliers fédéraux, y compris la gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux.

La comptabilité du passif relatif à l'assainissement des sites contaminés est basée sur les procédures comptables du gouvernement du Canada établies par le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public et par la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers et ses directives, normes, guides et législation applicable.

Autres politiques et documents d'orientation connexes du Conseil du Trésor :

Principales lois fédérales :