Addressing Sites

Addressing federal contaminated sites does not necessarily involve clean up but it always ensures that risks at sites are managed to safeguard human health and the environment.

Depending on the risks and specific site characteristics, various methods and approaches can be used to address contamination. Examples include: active remediation, like removal and disposal of contamination in appropriate landfill; pump and treat systems to address groundwater contamination; and bioremediation (introduction of nutrients and microorganisms to break down the contamination), etc.

Some sites are better addressed by managing the risks through approaches such as restricting access to the site, changing the usage of the land, isolating the contaminants, etc.

How is a site remediated?

After a site assessment is completed, a remediation or risk management plan is developed for the site. The plan describes the various remediation alternatives under consideration and identifies the preferred option to reduce the risks to human health and the environment. The chosen remediation method is designed to address the unique conditions at the site where it will be implemented.

The custodian oversees the development of the remediation plan and works closely with consultants, contractors and trades people hired to design and implement it. Common remediation activities involve reducing exposure to dangerous contaminants by removing, destroying or containing them.

How long can it take to restore a contaminated site?

Remediating a contaminated site can be done within a day, or may require several years. Many sites have become contaminated because of decades of improper handling and storage of waste of various types. It can take many years to address the contamination contained at some of the largest and most complex contaminated sites.

The duration of remediation activities at a site can vary considerably depending on various factors:

  • the nature and extent of the contamination
  • site characteristics (geological, geochemical and hydrogeological conditions)
  • location (e.g., remote regions difficult to access)
  • weather conditions (e.g., harsh climate)
  • technological capacities
  • scientific knowledge
  • length of the field work season

Where can I find information about environmental assessments for remediation projects?

Prior to the new Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA 2012), the remediation of contaminated sites on federal lands required a federal environmental assessment.

Public access to information and records for environmental assessments of federal remediation activities that were subject to the previous Canadian Environmental Assessment Act can be found in the Canadian Environmental Assessment Archives (http://www.ceaa-acee.gc.ca/052/index-eng.cfm).

Under CEAA 2012, there is no longer a mandatory requirement for a federal environmental assessment. However, the Minister of Environment and Climate Change can designate specific federal remediation activities and require a federal environmental assessment based on the potential for adverse environmental effects or public concern about those effects.

An evaluation of potential significant adverse environmental effects of proposed remediation activities on federal lands will still need to be conducted. If significant effects cannot be mitigated then a Cabinet Level decision would need to be made as to whether those effects could be justified in the circumstances. Federal authorities will be required to report to the public on these evaluation activities annually.

Mise en œuvre

La mise en œuvre de mesures de gestion des sites contaminés n'implique pas nécessairement la décontamination complète des sites, mais elle fait toujours en sorte que les risques identifiés soient gérés afin de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Selon les risques et les caractéristiques propres au site, différentes méthodes peuvent être considérées, comme par exemple, l'enlèvement et l'élimination des sols contaminés dans un site d'enfouissement approprié; le pompage et le traitement des eaux souterraines contaminées; la bioremédiation (introduction de substances nutritives et de microorganismes pour dégrader les contaminants); etc.

Pour certains sites, des méthodes de gestion de risque sont plus appropriées. À titre d'exemple, il est possible d'interdire l'accès aux sites, de changer l'usage d'un site, d'isoler les contaminants pour éviter leur dispersion dans l'environnement, etc.

Comment procède-t-on à l'assainissement d'un site?

Une fois l'évaluation d'un site effectuée, un plan d'assainissement ou de gestion des risques est élaboré. Le plan décrit les diverses méthodes d'assainissement envisagées, et identifie l'option à privilégier afin de réduire les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. La méthode d'assainissement retenue est conçue en fonction des caractéristiques uniques du site où elle sera mise en œuvre.

Le gardien supervise le développement du plan d'assainissement et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les consultants, entrepreneurs et gens de métier engagés pour la conception et la mise en œuvre du plan. Les activités courantes d'assainissement comprennent l'enlèvement, la destruction et le confinement des contaminants dangereux.

Combien de temps faut-il pour assainir un site contaminé?

L'assainissement d'un site contaminé peut se faire dans une journée, ou peut nécessiter plusieurs années. De nombreux sites sont devenus contaminés en raison de décennies de mauvaises habitudes de manipulation et de stockage de divers types de déchets. Plusieurs années peuvent s'avérer nécessaires pour traiter la contamination présente aux sites contaminés les plus grands et les plus complexes.

La durée des activités d'assainissement d'un site peut varier considérablement en fonction de plusieurs facteurs :

  • la nature et l'étendue de la contamination;
  • les caractéristiques du site (conditions géologique, géochimique et hydrogéologique);
  • l'emplacement (p. ex., des régions éloignées difficiles d'accès);
  • les conditions météorologiques (p. ex., un climat rude);
  • les capacités technologiques;
  • les connaissances scientifiques;
  • la durée de la saison de travail sur le terrain;

Où puis-je trouver de l'information sur les évaluations environnementales des projets d'assainissement?

Avant la nouvelle Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCEE 2012) l’assainissement des sites contaminés sur les terres fédérales exigeait une évaluation environnementale fédérale.

Le public peut avoir accès à l’information et aux registres des évaluations environnementales des travaux d’assainissement menés par le gouvernement fédéral qui étaient visés par la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale précédente en consultant les archives canadiennes sur l’évaluation environnementale (http://www.ceaa-acee.gc.ca/052/index-fra.cfm). 

En vertu de la LCEE 2012, aucune exigence d’évaluation environnementale fédérale n’est requise. Cependant, le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique peut désigner des activités d’assainissement spécifiques menées par le fédéral et demander une évaluation environnementale fédérale en fonction des effets environnementaux négatifs potentiels ou des préoccupations du public au sujet de ces effets.

Une évaluation des effets environnementaux négatifs potentiels des travaux d’assainissement proposés devra tout de même être menée. Si des effets importants ne peuvent être atténués, une décision émanant du Cabinet devra être prise à savoir si ces effets peuvent être justifiés dans les circonstances. Les autorités fédérales devront présenter des rapports annuels à la population sur ces activités d’évaluation.