FCSAP Advisory Bulletin

PDF: 1.85 MB

Radionuclides in Groundwater

Background

A nuclide is an alternative name for an atom whose nuclei have specific numbers of protons and neutrons (both are called nucleons). Nuclides are composite particles of nucleons (Chieh, 2003). A radionuclide is an unstable form of a nuclide that undergoes radioactive decay. Radionuclides may occur naturally in groundwater through contact with rocks or soils that have Naturally Occurring Radioactive Materials (NORM), but can also be the resultant of anthropogenic activities. Most background groundwaters have very low levels of naturally occurring radionuclides (e.g. uranium 238, thorium 232, potassium 40, lead 210 and radium 226) (United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA), 1992). Naturally occurring radionuclides can be concentrated in groundwater through the following activities;

  • Wastes generated during metal mining and processing operations – aluminum, uranium, copper, rare earths, precious metals;
  • Wastes generated from fertilizers and the production of fertilizers;
  • Landfills;
  • Oil and gas production;
  • Waste water treatment wastes; and
  • Waste water from land-based storage/decontamination of contaminated sediment.

Groundwater can also be impacted from anthropogenic sources of radionuclides through activities such as nuclear testing or power generation and associated wastes (eg. uranium 235, tritium, cesium 137, strontium 90, and plutonium 244).

Radionuclides are generally predicted to have very slow travel times in groundwater. This is not a result of their radioactivity but a function of their low solubility (Nitsche et al, 1993) and strong sorption (Triay et al, 1996) but transport in groundwater through colloid-facilitated transport is commonly seen at testing facilities where underground waste storage is recommended (Kersting et al, 1999). Colloid-facilitated transport generally refers to contaminants of concern adsorbed on dissolved organic matter or soil particles such as clays that have a high cation exchange capacity. Radionuclides can also form their own colloids. Colloid-facilitated transport of radionuclides is a concern in groundwater and risk assessments due to pore exclusion of colloidal particles which can result in transport of radionuclides in groundwater at a rate that is greater than the average groundwater velocity (Degeuldre, 1997).

Standard Approach

At contaminated sites where radionuclides are a concern (or potential concern, i.e. those types of contaminated sites listed in the previous section), it is important that groundwater sampling protocols be in place to investigate the potential for colloid-facilitated transport (Backhus et al, 1993), in addition to standard sampling protocols for radionuclides (Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME), 2011a). Radionuclides in groundwater can be initially investigated using inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry (ICPMS) to screen samples for radionuclide contamination. Those contaminants of potential concern analyzed with an ICPMS are uranium, thorium, and radium (International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), 2010). The main advantages to using this method are high sensitivity and short analytical times, requiring only a few minutes (IAEA, 2010).

Guidelines for radionuclides in groundwater for the protection of human health have been developed by Health Canada (Health Canada, 2009). CCME has developed guidelines on chemical toxicity for Uranium in water for the protection of aquatic life, not toxicity from radioactivity (CCME 2011b). For other guidelines or standards that may be applicable for your site, please refer to the Database of Guidelines (DOG), developed by Environment and Climate Change Canada.

 

Disclaimer

FCSAP Expert Support provides the above information in accordance with the FCSAP and associated guidelines and policies including our mandate under theFisheries Act subsection 36(3).  This is in no way to be interpreted as any type of approval, authorization, or release from requirements to comply with federal statutes and regulations.  If you have any questions or concerns, please e-mail: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, or contact your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

References:

Backhus, D.A., et al. 1993. Sampling Colloids and Colloid-Associated Contaminants in Ground Water. Ground Water, 31(3), 466-479.

Chieh, Chang. (2003). University of Waterloo. Nuclides. On-line. Accessed Dec., 2, 2014.

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) (2011a). Protocols Manual for Water Quality Sampling in Canada. 6.14 PROTOCOL FOR RADIONUCLIDES SAMPLING. Pg 87.

CCME (2011b). Canadian water quality guidelines for the protection of aquatic life: Uranium.

Degueldre, C. (1997), Groundwater colloid properties and their potential influence on radionuclide transport, Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc., 465, 835 pp.

Health Canada. (2009), Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality: Guideline Technical Document - Radiological Parameters

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Analytical Methodology for the Determination of Radium Isotopes in Environmental Samples. 2010.

Kersting, A.B. et al. (1999), Migration of Plutonium in Groundwater at the Nevada Test Site. Nature, Vol. 397-7, pgs 56-59. 

Nitsche, H. et al. (1993), Measured Solubilities and Speciations of Neptunium, Plutonium and Americium in a Typical Groundwater (J-13) from the Yucca Mountain Region Milestone Report 3010-WBS 1.2.3.4.1.3.1 (Rep. LA-12562-MS, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 1993).

Triay, I. R. et al. (1996), Radionuclides Sorption in Yucca Mountain Tuffs with J-13 Well Water: Neptunium, Uranium, and Plutonium (Rep. LA-12956-MS, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 1996).

US Environmental Protection Agency. (1992). Appendix II: Radioactive Substances in the Environment. On-line.  Accessed Dec., 2, 2014.

Suggested Further Reading:

Database of Guidelines (DOG), 2014. A compilation of environmental quality guidelines and benchmark values for chemicals in various media from multiple national and international jurisdictions to facilitate screening and remediation processes for federal contaminated sites. The DoG should be used as a reference only. The primary documentation should always be consulted before the application of a guideline, to ensure that its use is appropriate and scientifically defensible. The DoG is considered up to date as of December 31st, 2012 and is not guaranteed to have the most recent guidelines.

Bulletin d’Avis du PASCF

PDF : 1.80 MB

Radionucléides dans les eaux souterraines

Contexte

Un nucléide est un autre nom pour un atome dont le noyau a un nombre précis de protons et de neutrons (tous deux appelés nucléons). Les nucléides sont des particules composites de nucléons (Chieh, 2003). Un radionucléide est une forme instable de nucléide qui subit une désintégration radioactive. Les radionucléides peuvent se former naturellement dans les eaux souterraines par le contact avec les roches ou les sols contenant des matières radioactives naturelles, mais ils peuvent aussi être causés par des activités anthropiques. La majorité des eaux souterraines de référence ont des niveaux très faibles de radionucléides naturels (p. ex., uranium 238, thorium 232, potassium 40, plomb 210 et radium 226) (Agence des États-Unis pour la protection de l'environnement (USEPA), 1992). Les radionucléides naturels peuvent être concentrés dans les eaux souterraines par les activités suivantes :

  • Les déchets produits pendant les activités d’extraction et de traitement des minerais métalliques – aluminium, uranium, cuivre, terres rares, métaux précieux
  • Les déchets produits par les engrais et la production d’engrais
  • L’enfouissement
  • La production de pétrole et de gaz
  • Les déchets des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées
  • Les eaux usées résultant de l’entreposage terrestre ou de la décontamination de sédiments contaminés

Des sources anthropiques de radionucléides peuvent également avoir une incidence sur les eaux souterraines par l'intermédiaire d'activités telles que les essais nucléaires ou la production d'électricité et ses déchets connexes (p. ex., uranium 235, tritium, césium 137, strontium 90 et plutonium 244).

On prévoit généralement que les radionucléides ont une vitesse de déplacement très lente dans les eaux souterraines. Cela ne découle pas de leur radioactivité, mais il s'agit d'une fonction de leur faible solubilité (Nitsche et coll, 1993) et forte sorption (Triay et coll, 1996). Cependant, leur transport dans les eaux souterraines par transport facilité par les colloïdes est couramment vu aux installations d'essais où un entreposage souterrain des déchets est recommandé (Kersting et coll, 1999). Le transport facilité par les colloïdes renvoie généralement aux contaminants préoccupants adsorbés sur la matière organique dissoute ou les particules de sol comme les argiles qui ont une capacité d'échange cationique élevée. Les radionucléides peuvent aussi former leurs propres colloïdes. Le transport des radionucléides facilité par les colloïdes est préoccupant dans les eaux souterraines et les évaluations de risques en raison de l'exclusion poreuse des particules colloïdale, ce qui peut entraîner un transport des radionucléides dans les eaux souterraines à un taux plus important que la vitesse moyenne de l'eau souterraine (Degeuldre, 1997).

Approche normalisée

Aux sites contaminés où les radionucléides sont préoccupants (ou potentiellement préoccupants, c.-à-d. les types de sites contaminés énumérés dans la section précédente), il est important que des protocoles d'échantillonnage des eaux souterraines soient en place pour étudier la possibilité de transport facilité par les colloïdes (Backhus et coll, 1993), en plus des protocoles d'échantillonnage normalisés pour les radionucléides (Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement [CCME], 2011a). Les radionucléides dans les eaux souterraines peuvent être étudiés au départ au moyen de la spectrométrie de masse avec plasma à couplage inductif (ICPMS) afin de sélectionner des échantillons pour la contamination par les radionucléides. Les contaminants possiblement préoccupants analysés avec une ICPMS sont l'uranium, le thorium et le radium (Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA), 2010). Les principaux avantages de l'utilisation de cette méthode sont une grande sensibilité et un temps d'analyse court, nécessitant seulement quelques minutes (AIEA, 2010).

Des recommandations pour les radionucléides dans les eaux souterraines pour la protection de la santé humaine ont été élaborées par Santé Canada (Santé Canada, 2009). Le CCME a élaboré des recommandations sur la toxicité chimique pour l'uranium dans l'eau afin de protéger la vie aquatique, pas sur la toxicité liée à la radioactivité (CCME 2011b). Afin d'obtenir d'autres recommandations ou normes qui peuvent être applicables pour votre site, veuillez consulter la Base de données de recommandations (BDR), élaborée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

 

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le soutien expert du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) fournit les renseignements ci-dessus conformément au PASCF et aux recommandations et politiques connexes, y compris notre mandat en vertu du paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur les pêches. Ces renseignements ne doivent en aucun cas être interprétés comme un type d'approbation, d'autorisation ou de soustraction aux exigences de se conformer aux lois et aux règlements fédéraux. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, envoyez un courriel à l'adresse : fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, ou communiquez avec le soutien expert du PASCF de votre région.

Références

Backhus, D.A., et coll. 1993. Sampling Colloids and Colloid-Associated Contaminants in Ground Water. Ground Water, 31(3), 466-479.

Chieh, Chang. (2003), University of Waterloo. Nuclides. En ligne. Consulté le 2 déc. 2014.

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME). Guide sur les protocoles d'échantillonnage pour la qualité des eaux au Canada. 6.14 PROTOCOLE POUR LES RADIONUCLÉIDES. P. 87.

CCME (2011b). Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des eaux : protection de la vie aquatique - Uranium.

Degueldre, C. (1997), Groundwater colloid properties and their potential influence on radionuclide transport, Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc., 465, 835 p.

Santé Canada (2009). Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada : Document technique - Paramètres radiologiques.

Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA). Analytical Methodology for the Determination of Radium Isotopes in Environmental Samples. 2010.

Kersting, A.B. et coll. (1999), Migration of Plutonium in Groundwater at the Nevada Test Site. Nature, Vol. 397-7, pp 56-59.

Nitsche, H. et coll. (1993), Measured Solubilities and Speciations of Neptunium, Plutonium and Americium in a Typical Groundwater (J-13) from the Yucca Mountain Region Milestone Report 3010-WBS 1.2.3.4.1.3.1 (Rep. LA-12562-MS, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 1993).

Triay, I. R. et coll. (1996), Radionuclides Sorption in Yucca Mountain Tuffs with J-13 Well Water : Neptunium, Uranium, and Plutonium (Rep. LA-12956-MS, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 1996).

US Environmental Protection Agency. (1992), Appendix II: Radioactive Substances in the Environment. En ligne. Consulté le 2 déc. 2014.

Suggestions de lectures supplémentaires :

Base de données de recommandations (BDR), 2014. Une compilation des recommandations pour la qualité de l'environnement et les valeurs de référence pour les produits chimiques dans divers milieux de multiples compétences nationales et internationales afin de faciliter les processus de dépistage et d'assainissement pour les sites contaminés fédéraux. La BDR devrait être utilisée à titre de référence seulement. La documentation principale devrait toujours être consultée avant l'application d'une recommandation, afin d'assurer qu'elle est appropriée et scientifiquement valable. La BDR est considérée comme étant à jour en date du 31 décembre 2012; il n'est donc pas garantie que les plus récentes recommandations s'y trouvent.