FCSAP Advisory Bulletin

PDF: 1.85 MB

How clean does a contaminated site need to be to achieve acceptable protection of ecological receptors for subsequent site closure?

Background

The Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) provides financial and technical assistance for the assessment, remediation and/or risk management of eligible federal contaminated sites. Assessment funding is used to assess whether a site is contaminated and to determine the extent of the contamination. Remediation/risk management funding is used to reduce environmental liability by reducing the risk to human health and the environment and from contamination at high priority sites for which the federal government is responsible.

The federal Policy on Management of Real Property (Treasury Board of Canada, 2006) stipulates that “…Management activities (including remediation) must be undertaken to the extent required for current or intended federal use…”

After completion of remediation and/or risk management activities and any required long-term monitoring at a federal contaminated site, the FCSAP Site Closure Tool is used to help the custodian evaluate if a site should be closed, and also to record site conditions and site-use limitations, where applicable. The status ‘Closed’ is assigned to sites on the Federal Contaminated Sites Inventory when the custodian deems that no further action is required and there is no environmental liability. No further action means that: all risks to human and ecological receptors are acceptable; there is no environmental liability associated with the site; and long-term monitoring is either not required or is complete (FCSAP, 2013a, b)Footnote 1.

This FCSAP Advisory Bulletin presents standard FCSAP Expert Support advice pertaining to the required extent of activities on FCSAP-funded federal contaminated sites in regard to protection of ecological receptors. It answers the frequently asked question: “How clean does a contaminated site need to be to achieve acceptable protection of ecological receptors for subsequent site closure?” For human health, guidance on the level of protection required to achieve site closure at FCSAP funded contaminated sites is provided separately by Health Canada (2010a, b) and is not part of this FCSAP Advisory Bulletin.

Standard Approach

The level of protection for ecological receptors that is needed to achieve site closure at FCSAP sites has been adopted from the level of protection inherent in the Canadian Soil Quality Guidelines (Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME), 1999). This narrative protection goal is stated as the guiding principle in the protocol for the derivation of soil quality guidelines (CCME, 2006) as follows:

"to provide a healthy functioning ecosystem capable of sustaining the current and likely future uses of the site"

FCSAP considers this as an acceptable protection goal for all media (e.g., soil, sediment, surface water, and groundwater) because the Canadian Soil Quality Guidelines were developed specifically for use at contaminated sites. This FCSAP narrative protection goal is intended to guide remediation and risk management activities at terrestrial and aquatic FCSAP sites to ensure protection of ecological receptors and to allow subsequent site closureFootnote 2

At most FCSAP sites, this narrative protection goal is typically met, when it can be demonstrated that there are:

  • No effects on individuals of protected species (e.g., Federal Species At Risk Act (SARA) and/or provincially-listed species); and
  • Only minimal to low effects on common species, as long as there are no long-term, adverse effects on the local populations or ecosystem functions.

Site closure also requires that the following conditions be met:

  • Compliance with all applicable legislation (e.g., Fisheries Act, SARA, CEPA);
  • No other socio-economic reasons why minimal to low effects to common species would not be acceptable (e.g., culturally-important species).

Site closure at FCSAP funded contaminated sites can be achieved through ex-situ remediation with off-site disposal or treatment, on-site in-situ or ex-situ remediation, or risk management as per the FCSAP Site Closure Tool (FCSAP, 2013a). Within these three main operational approaches, several options are available to achieve the FCSAP narrative protection goal and subsequent site closure:

  1. remediation where contamination is removed or reduced to CCME guidelines (CCME, 1999);
  2. remediation to guidelines from other jurisdictions, if CCME guidelines are not availableFootnote3 ,
  3. demonstration with a risk assessment, that the risk to ecological receptors is acceptable
  4. remediation to Site-Specific Target Levels developed through a site-specific risk assessment;
  5. risk reduction to acceptable level through appropriate risk management strategies; or
  6. management of the site using a combination of the above approaches.

It is the custodian’s responsibility to determine which approach (a-f) is most suitable and cost-effective for each site. Regardless of which option is used at a particular FCSAP site, the custodian should demonstrate that the FCSAP protection goal for the protection of ecological receptors has been met prior to site closure. To ensure protection of Human Health, the custodian should follow applicable guidance by Health Canada (2010a, b).

For site-specific advice on how clean a contaminated site needs to be to achieve site closure, please contact your regional expert support representatives or the FCSAP Secretariat at FCSAP.PASCF@ec.gc.ca.

Examples

In this section, specific examples are provided to illustrate how approaches a) to f) as listed above can be applied to achieve the FCSAP protection goal for ecological receptors:

  1. Remediation to CCME guidelines:
    Contamination at the site that exceeds CCME guidelines is removed (e.g. excavated) or reduced (e.g. land farming, monitor natural attenuation, soil vapour extraction) to below guidelines, thus the inherent CCME level of protection for that media is achieved. For example, for a CCME surface water guideline that is derived from a Species Sensitivity Distribution (5th percentile of a no-effect distribution), it would be expected that, at or below this concentration, all aquatic receptors in all life stages are protected and sustainable ecosystem function is achieved. Remediation to CCME water and sediment guidelines meets and actually exceeds the FCSAP protection goalFootnote 4. As another example, the soil contact pathway guideline for soil at an industrial site is based on the 50th percentile of Effective Concentration (EC) 25 and/or Inhibition Concentration (IC) 25 data (CCME, 2006). Low levels of adverse effects are expected to occur in less than half the terrestrial species at contamination levels at or below these guidelines, but overall effects impairing ecosystem function are not expected. Remediation to CCME soil quality guidelines meets the FCSAP narrative protection goal.
  2. Remediation to guidelines other than CCME:
    When contamination is present at a FCSAP site for which no CCME guidelines exist, the site may be remediated to guidelines from another jurisdiction (e.g., provincial, international). Numerical guidelines from different jurisdictions are often developed using different data, methods or models. It is therefore important to demonstrate that the guideline is consistent with the FCSAP protection goal and no more than minimal effects are expected to occur. If the level of protection inherent in the guideline from a different jurisdiction allows for more significant effects, it would not be acceptable to be used on FCSAP sites. For example, while the CCME soil quality guidelines are often based on a certain percentile of EC/IC 25 data, guidelines from another jurisdiction may be developed by selecting the lowest available EC20 from the literature. In this case, although derived differently, the level of protection is similar to the level of protection provided by CCME and no more than minimal effects are expected to occur. In contrast, if a guideline from a different jurisdiction is intended to protect receptors only from acute and severe effects, and was, for example, derived by calculating an average EC50, then this guideline is not consistent with the FCSAP protection goal and is not acceptable to guide remediation efforts on FCSAP sites.
  3. Demonstration, with a risk assessment, that risk to ecological receptors is acceptable:
    A custodian may conduct a risk assessment (following FCSAP guidance) to show whether the FCSAP protection goal is met. For example, a weight-of-evidence risk assessment could use numerous lines of evidence to conclude that, despite contamination in surface water, sediment or soil above CCME guidelines, receptors remain protected and a healthy, sustainable, and functioning ecosystem is maintained at the site as required by the FCSAP narrative protection goal. For example if toxicity testing is conducted as one line of evidence, results showing less than EC/IC 25 for terrestrial species (CCME, 2006, Section 7.5.5) or less than EC/IC 20 for aquatic species (CCME, 2007, Part II, Section 1-7) are commonly considered to represent minimal to low effects (i.e. negligible risk if all other parameters are met). Similarly, if benthic community analysis is used as a line of evidence, effects are typically considered minimal to low if observed differences between the site and appropriate reference areas are not statistically significant (Environment Canada and Ontario Ministry of the Environment, 2008).
  4. Remediation to Site-Specific Target Levels developed by a site-specific risk assessment:
    If a risk assessment concluded that certain receptors are not protected, the risk assessment may be used to develop Site-Specific Target Levels (SSTLs). The site would be remediated to these SSTLs, and although the SSTLs differ in value from the CCME guidelines, they would ensure that a healthy functioning ecosystem capable of sustaining the current and likely future uses of the site by ecological receptors is maintained as required by the FCSAP narrative protection goal.
  5. Reduction of risk through appropriate risk management strategies:
    If a risk assessment identified that, for example, key ecological receptors are not protected and ecosystem function is at risk, permanent risk management measures such as reducing contaminant bioavailability, limiting access through fencing, etc., may reduce or mitigate exposure. These measures ensure that key ecological receptors will be protected to a level indicative of a healthy, sustainable, and functioning ecosystem as required by the FCSAP narrative protection goal. Although the federal custodian remains responsible for maintaining the long-term effectiveness of the risk management measures, FCSAP site closure may be achieved as no additional risk reduction initiatives are required.
  6. Management of the site using a combination of the above approaches:
    Sites may be managed with a variety of approaches. For example, excavation of hotspot soil contamination to CCME guidelines at a site can be supplemented with a risk assessment for residual contamination that could not be accessed. Although the majority of the contamination would be removed, risk assessment could establish that any remaining contamination does not pose an unacceptable risk to key ecological receptors, thereby maintaining a healthy, sustainable, and functioning ecosystem at this site.

For approaches b) to f), the site specific documentation (e.g., risk assessments, remediation reports, long-term monitoring approaches) should clearly demonstrate how the remediation methods, risk assessment approaches, and/or risk management measures achieved the FCSAP narrative protection goal.  For approaches c) to f) it is the responsibility of the custodian to maintain conditions and any risk reduction measures that were deemed necessary to meet the FCSAP narrative protection goal for ecological receptors.

References

CCME 2006: A protocol for the derivation of environmental and human health soil quality guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Winnipeg, PN 1332, 215 pgs.

CCME 2007: Protocol for the Derivation of Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Winnipeg.

CCME 1999: Canadian environmental quality guidelines. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Winnipeg.

Environment Canada and Ontario Ministry of the Environment 2008: Canada-Ontario decision-making framework for assessment of Great Lakes contaminated sediment. Ottawa (ON), Canada.

FCSAP 2013a: Guidance for Site Closure Tool for Federal Contaminated Sites. 79 pgs.

FCSAP 2013b: Federal Contaminated Sites – Site Closure Tool, Version 1.2. January 2013.

Health Canada 2010a: Federal Contaminated Site Risk Assessment in Canada, Part V: Guidance on Human Health Detailed Quantitative Risk Assessment for Chemicals (DQRAChem). 193 pgs.

Health Canada 2010b: Federal Contaminated Site Risk Assessment in Canada, Part VI: Guidance on Human Health Detailed Quantitative Radiological Risk Assessment (DQRARad). 164 pgs.

Treasury Board of Canada 2006: Policy on Management of Real Property.

Acronyms & Glossary

CCMECanadian Council of Ministers of the Environment
CEPACanadian Environmental Protection Act
ECxEffective Concentration x: The concentration of a chemical in the medium that results in some sublethal effect to x% of the test organisms. The ECx is normally reported as a time dependent value with the sublethal endpoint observed (e.g., 5-day ECx,reproduction). Effective concentrations can be specified for different percentiles (e.g. the EC50 would result in an effect to 50% of the test organisms, the EC25 would result in an effect to 25% of the test organisms) (adapted from CCME 2006)
FABFCSAP Advisory Bulletin
FCSAPFederal Contaminated Sites Action Plan
ICxInhibition Concentration x: The concentration of the chemical in a medium which results in an x% response to a measured endpoint (e.g. growth, reproduction) for the test organism. For example: The IC25 is normally reported as a time dependent value with the sublethal endpoint observed (e.g., 28-day IC25, plant growth). Inhibition concentrations can also be specified for other percentiles (e.g. the IC50 would result in a 50% effect to the measured parameter) (adapted from CCME 2006)
SARASpecies at Risk Act
SSTLSite Specific Target Level

 

Disclaimer

FCSAP Expert Support provides the above information in accordance with the FCSAP and associated guidelines and policies.  This is in no way to be interpreted as any type of approval, authorization, or release from requirements to comply with federal statutes and regulations.  If you have any questions or concerns, please e-mail: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, or contact your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Sites that are being divested or sites where the contamination is moving off-site may be subject to additional requirements subsequent to site-specific divestiture agreements or subsequent to requirements of the jurisdiction responsible for the land impacted by off-site migration.

Return to footnote1

Footnote 2

The FCSAP narrative protection goal is not intended to be applied when determining if a site is contaminated or if a site is eligible for FCSAP funding, in which case media specific CCME numeric guidelines apply (CCME 1999).

Return to footnote2

Footnote 3

see FCSAP Advisory Bulletin #1: Can Provincial/Territorial Guidelines be applied in lieu of existing Federal Guidelines?

Return to footnote3

Footnote 4

CCME surface water and sediment guidelines have a more stringent level of protection (i.e., no effect) than the FCSAP protection goal stated in this Advisory Bulletin because they were developed for pollution prevention at pristine sites. Hence, sites that are being closed using approach “a) remediation to CCME guidelines” will likely have chemical concentrations in sediment and surface water lower than the level required for FCSAP Site Closure.

Return to footnote4

Bulletin d’Avis du PASCF

PDF : 1.83 MB

Dans quelle mesure un site contaminé doit-il être décontaminé afin d'obtenir une protection acceptable des récepteurs écologiques en vue de la fermeture subséquente du site?

Contexte

Le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) fournit une aide financière et technique pour l'évaluation, l'assainissement et/ou la gestion des risques des sites contaminés fédéraux admissibles. Le financement d'évaluation est utilisé pour évaluer si un site est contaminé et pour déterminer l'étendue de la contamination. Un financement pour l'assainissement ou la gestion des risques est utilisé pour réduire le passif environnemental en réduisant le risque pour la santé humaine et l'environnement provenant de la contamination des sites à priorité élevée dont le gouvernement fédéral est responsable.

La Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers fédérale (Conseil du Trésor du Canada, 2006) stipule « qu'en ce qui concerne les activités de gestion (y compris l'assainissement), il faut intervenir dans la mesure requise pour l'utilisation actuelle ou prévue par le gouvernement fédéral... »

Après l'achèvement des activités d'assainissement ou de gestion des risques, et si nécessaire de surveillance à long terme, à un site contaminé fédéral, l'outil de fermeture du site du PASCF est utilisé pour aider aux gardiens à évaluer si un site doit être fermé et aussi pour enregistrer les conditions du site et les limitations d'utilisation du site, s'il y a lieu. L'état « fermé » est attribué aux sites dans l'inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux lorsque le gardien estime qu'aucune autre mesure n'est nécessaire et qu'il ne reste aucun passif environnemental. Aucune autre mesure est requise lorsque: les risques pour les récepteurs humains et écologiques sont acceptables; il n'y a pas de responsabilité environnementale liée au site; et la surveillance à long terme n'est pas requise ou est terminée (FCSAP 2013a, b)Footnote 1.

Le présent bulletin d'Avis du PASCF présente des conseils normalisés de l'équipe de soutien expert du PASCF ayant trait à l'étendue requise des activités dans les sites contaminés fédéraux financés par le PASCF en ce qui a trait à la protection des récepteurs écologiques. Il répond à la question fréquemment posée : « Dans quelle mesure un site contaminé doit-il être décontaminé pour qu'on atteigne une protection acceptable des récepteurs écologiques en vue de la fermeture subséquente du site? » Pour la santé humaine, un document d'orientation sur le niveau de protection requis pour fermer un site contaminé financé par le PASCF est fourni séparément par Santé Canada (2010a, b) et ne fait pas partie de ce bulletin.

Approche normalisée

Le niveau de protection des récepteurs écologiques nécessaire pour fermer les sites du PASCF provient du niveau de protection inhérent aux Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols (Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement [CCME, 1999]). Dans le protocole d'élaboration des recommandations pour la qualité des sols (CCME, 2006), cet objectif de protection narratif est énoncé comme le principe directeur de la façon suivante :

« pour fournir un écosystème sain et fonctionnel capable de soutenir les utilisations actuelles et à venir probables du site »

Le PASCF considère cela comme un but acceptable en matière de protection pour tous les milieux (y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, le sol, les sédiments, l'eau de surface, l'eau souterraine) puisque les Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols ont été élaborées précisément pour être utilisées aux sites contaminés. Le présent objectif de protection narratif du PASCF vise à orienter les activités d'assainissement et de gestion des risques sur les sites terrestres et aquatiques du PASCF pour assurer la protection des récepteurs écologiques et pour permettre la fermeture subséquente du siteFootnote 2.

Sur la plupart des sites du PASCF, cet objectif de protection narratif est généralement atteint, lorsque les éléments suivants peuvent être démontrés :

  • sans effet sur les individus des espèces protégées (p. ex., Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et/ou espèces inscrites à la liste provinciale);
  • effets minimes à faibles sur les espèces communes, pourvu qu’il n’y ait pas d’effets nocifs à long terme sur les populations locales ou les fonctions de l’écosystème.

La fermeture du site requiert également le respect des conditions suivantes :

  • observation de toutes les lois applicables (p. ex, Loi sur les pêches, LEP, Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement [LCPE]);
  • aucune autre raison socioéconomique pour laquelle des effets minimes à faibles ne seraient pas acceptables (p. ex., espèces culturellement importantes).

La fermeture des sites contaminés financés par le PASCF peut être atteinte par l’assainissement ex-situ avec élimination ou traitement hors site, l’assainissement sur place in situ ou ex-situ, ou la gestion des risques conformément à l’outil de fermeture du site du PASCF (PASCF, 2013a). À l’intérieur de ces trois principales approches opérationnelles, plusieurs options sont possibles pour atteindre l’objectif de protection narratif du PASCF et la fermeture subséquente du site :

  1. assainissement lorsque la contamination est éliminée ou réduite selon des recommandations du CCME (CCME 1999);
  2. assainissement selon des recommandations autres que celles du CCME, lorsque celles-ci n’existent pasFootnote 3,
  3. preuve avec une évaluation des risques que le risque pour les récepteurs écologiques soit acceptable;
  4. assainissement pour atteindre les niveaux ciblés du site élaborés par l’intermédiaire d’une évaluation des risques propres à un site;
  5. réduction des risques à un tel niveau où le gardien estime que ce risque ne présente pas de risque inacceptable envers la santé humaine et l’environnement, et ce par l’intermédiaire de stratégies de gestion des risques appropriées; ou
  6. gestion du site au moyen d’une combinaison des approches ci-dessus.

Il revient au gardien de déterminer l'approche (a-f) qui convient le mieux pour chaque site. Peu importe l'option utilisée à un site du PASCF en particulier, le gardien devrait démontrer que l'objectif de protection du PASCF en matière de protection des récepteurs écologiques a été atteint avant la fermeture du site. Pour assurer la protection de la santé humaine, le gardien devrait suivre les directives applicables de Santé Canada (2010a, b).

Pour des conseils propres à un site au sujet du niveau de décontamination nécessaire à un site contaminé pour en permettre la fermeture, veuillez communiquer avec vos représentants régionaux du soutien expert ou le Secrétariat du PASCF à FCSAP.PASCF@ec.gc.ca.

Exemples

Dans la présente section, des exemples précis sont fournis pour illustrer comment les approches (a à f) énumérées ci-dessus peuvent être employées pour atteindre l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF pour les récepteurs écologiques :

  1. Assainissement selon des recommandations du CCME :
    Contamination au site qui dépasse les limites indiquées dans les recommandations du CCME est éliminée (p. ex. excavation) ou réduite sous les limites (p. ex. épandage, suivi de l'atténuation naturelle, extraction des contaminants volatils du sol), ainsi le niveau de protection inhérent du CCME pour ce milieu est atteint. Par exemple, pour une ligne directrice du CCME sur l'eau de surface qui est dérivée d'une distribution de la sensibilité des espèces (5 percentiles d'une distribution sans effet), on s'attend à ce qu'à cette concentration ou en dessous, tous les récepteurs aquatiques à toutes les phases de vie soient protégés et qu'une fonction durable de l'écosystème soit atteinte. L'assainissement selon les recommandations du CCME pour l'eau et les sédiments respecte, dépasse même, l'objectif en matière de protection du PASCFFootnote 4. Pour citer un autre exemple, la ligne directrice concernant la voie d'exposition du contact avec le sol à un site industriel est fondée sur le 50e percentile des données de Concentration effective (CE) 25 et/ou de Concentration inhibitrice (CI) 25 (CCME 2006). On prévoit que des niveaux faibles d'effets nocifs auront lieu chez moins de la moitié des espèces terrestres à des niveaux de contamination égaux ou inférieurs aux limites de ces recommandations, mais on ne prévoit pas d'effets généraux détériorant une fonction de l'écosystème. L'assainissement selon les recommandations sur la qualité du sol du CCME respecte l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF.
  2. Assainissement selon des recommandations autres que celles du CCME :
    Lorsqu'il y a contamination sur un site du PASCF pour laquelle il n'existe aucune recommandation du CCME, le site peut être assaini selon des recommandations d'une autre compétence (p. ex., provinciale, internationale). Les recommandations numériques de différentes compétences sont souvent élaborées à l'aide de données, de méthodes ou de modèles divers. Il est donc important de démontrer que la recommandation cadre avec l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF et que des effets tout au plus minimes devraient se produire. Si le niveau de protection inhérent à la recommandation d'une autre compétence permet des effets plus importants, il ne serait pas acceptable de l'utiliser sur des sites du PASCF. Par exemple, bien que le CCME ait élaboré des recommandations concernant le sol fondées sur les données d'un certain percentile de CE/CI 25, des recommandations d'une autre compétence peuvent être élaborées en choisissant la CE20 la plus basse qui se trouve dans la documentation. Dans ce cas, bien qu'il soit élaboré différemment, le niveau de protection est semblable à celui prévu par le CCME, et des effets tout au plus minimes devraient se produire. Par opposition, si une recommandation d'une autre compétence vise à protéger les récepteurs seulement contre les effets aigus et graves et, par exemple, découle du calcul d'une CE50 moyenne, cette recommandation ne cadre pas avec l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF et n'est pas acceptable du point de vue de l'orientation des efforts d'assainissement sur les sites du PASCF.
  3. Preuve, avec une évaluation des risques, que le risque pour les récepteurs écologiques est acceptable :
    Un gardien peut mener une évaluation des risques (en suivant les recommandations du PASCF) pour montrer si l'objectif de protection du PASCF est respecté. Par exemple, une évaluation des risques fondée sur le poids de la preuve pourrait utiliser de nombreux éléments de preuve pour conclure que, en dépit de la contamination de l'eau de surface, des sédiments ou du sol supérieure aux recommandations du CCME, les récepteurs demeurent protégés et qu'un écosystème sain, durable et fonctionnel est maintenu sur le site comme le prescrit l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF. Par exemple, si des essais de toxicité sont effectués à titre d'élément de preuve, les résultats montrant une CE/CI 25 pour les espèces terrestres (CCME, 2006, Section 7.5.5) ou une CE/CI de moins de 20 pour les espèces aquatiques (CCME, 2007, Partie II, Section 1-7) sont généralement considérées comme représentant des effets minimes à faibles (c.-à-d. risque négligeable si tous les autres paramètres sont respectés). De même, si une analyse de la communauté benthique est utilisée à titre d'élément de preuve, les effets sont généralement considérés comme minimes ou faibles si les différences observées entre le site et les zones de référence appropriées ne sont pas statistiquement importantes (Environnement Canada et ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, 2008).
  4. Assainissement pour atteindre les niveaux cibles spécifiques au site élaborés par l’intermédiaire d’une évaluation des risques propres à un site :
    Si une évaluation des risques a conclu que certains récepteurs ne sont pas protégés, l'évaluation des risques peut être utilisée pour élaborer les niveaux cibles spécifiques au site. Le site serait assaini selon ces niveaux, et, bien que les niveaux cibles spécifiques au site diffèrent des recommandations du CCME, ils assureraient le maintien d'un écosystème sain et fonctionnel capable de soutenir les utilisations actuelles et à venir probables du site par les récepteurs écologiques comme le prescrit l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF.
  5. Réduction des risques par l’intermédiaire de stratégies de gestion des risques appropriées :
    Si une évaluation des risques a déterminé que, par exemple, des récepteurs écologiques clés ne sont pas protégés et qu'une fonction de l'écosystème est en péril, des mesures de gestion des risques permanentes telles que la réduction de la biodisponibilité des contaminants, limiter l'accès au moyen de clôtures, etc., peuvent réduire ou atténuer l'exposition. Ces mesures assurent que les récepteurs écologiques clés seront protégés à un niveau indicatif d'un écosystème sain, durable et fonctionnel comme le prescrit l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF. Bien que les gardiens fédéraux restent responsables du maintien de l'efficacité à long terme des mesures de gestion des risques, la clôture d'un site du PASCF peut être atteinte puisqu'aucune initiative de réduction des risques supplémentaire n'est requise.
  6. Gestion du site au moyen d’une combinaison des approches ci-dessus :
    Les sites peuvent être gérés selon diverses approches. Par exemple, l'excavation d'un point névralgique de contamination des sols selon les recommandations du CCME à un site peut être complétée par une gestion des risques pour la contamination résiduelle inaccessible. Même si la plus grande partie de la contamination était éliminée, une évaluation des risques pourrait établir que la contamination restante ne pose pas de risque inacceptable pour les récepteurs écologiques clés, maintenant ainsi un écosystème sain, durable et fonctionnel à ce site.

Pour les approches b) à f), la documentation propre au site (p. ex., évaluations des risques, rapports d'assainissement, approches de surveillance à long terme) devrait clairement montrer comment les méthodes d'assainissement, les approches d'évaluation des risques, et/ou les mesures de gestion des risques ont atteint l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF. Pour les approches c) à f), il revient au gardien de maintenir les conditions et toute mesure de réduction des risques jugée nécessaire afin d'atteindre l'objectif de protection narratif du PASCF en matière de récepteurs écologiques.

Références

CCME 2006 : Protocole d'élaboration de recommandations pour la qualité des sols en fonction de l'environnement et la santé humaine. Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement, Winnipeg, PN 1333, 215 p.

CCME 2007 : Protocole d'élaboration des recommandations pour la qualité des eaux en vue de protéger la vie aquatique. Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement, Winnipeg.

CCME 1999 : Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement. Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement, Winnipeg.

Environnement Canada et ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario 2008 : Cadre décisionnel pour Canada-Ontario concernant l'évaluation des sédiments contaminés des Grands Lacs. Ottawa (Ontario), Canada.

PASCF 2013a : Document d'orientation pour l'outil de fermeture des sites dans les cas de sites contaminés fédéraux. 79 p.

PASCF 2013b : Document d'orientation pour l'outil de fermeture des sites dans les cas de sites contaminés fédéraux, version 1.2. Janvier 2013.

Santé Canada 2010a : L'évaluation des risques pour les sites contaminés fédéraux au Canada, Partie V : L'évaluation quantitative détaillée des risques pour la santé humaine associés aux substances chimiques (ÉQDRChim). 193 p.

Santé Canada 2010a : L'Évaluation des risques pour les sites contaminés fédéraux au Canada, Partie VI : L'évaluation quantitative détaillée des risques radiologiques pour la santé humaine (ÉQDRRad). 164 p.

Conseil du Trésor du Canada 2006 : Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers.

Acronymes et glossaire

BAPBulletin d’Avis du PASCF
CCMEConseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement
CExConcentration effective x : La concentration d’un produit chimique dans le milieu qui entraîne des effets sublétaux à x % des organismes. La CEx est normalement rapportée selon une valeur temporelle avec l’effet sublétal observé (p. ex., CEx après 5 jours, reproduction). Les concentrations effectives peuvent être précisées pour différents percentiles (p. ex., la CE50 entraînerait un effet chez 50 % des organismes d’essai, la CE25 entraînerait un effet chez 25 % des organismes d’essai) (adapté de CCME 2006)
CIxConcentration inhibitrice x : La concentration du produit chimique dans un milieu qui entraîne une réponse de x % selon une mesure terminale (p. ex., croissance, reproduction) pour l’organisme d’essai. Par exemple : La CI25 est normalement rapportée selon une valeur temporelle avec l’effet sublétal observé (p. ex., CI25 après 28 jours, croissance de la plante). Les concentrations inhibitrices peuvent aussi être précisées pour d’autres percentiles (p. ex., la CI50 entraînerait un effet de 50 % sur le paramètre mesuré (adapté de CCME 2006)
LCPELoi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement
LEPLoi sur les espèces en péril
PASCFPlan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux

 

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le soutien expert du PASCF fournit l’information ci-dessus conformément au PASCF et aux directives et aux politiques connexes. Le présent document ne doit en aucun cas être interprété comme une forme d’approbation, d’autorisation ou de dispense des exigences à respecter les lois et règlements fédéraux, quelle qu’elle soit. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez envoyer un courriel à fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca ou communiquer avec le soutien expert du PASCF de votre région.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Les sites qui sont cédés ou les sites où la contamination se déplace hors site peuvent être assujettis à des exigences supplémentaires à la suite d’ententes de dessaisissement propres au site ou d’exigences de la compétence responsable des terres touchées par la migration hors site. La Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers fédérale (Conseil du Trésor du Canada, 2006) continue de s’appliquer pour les sites fermés qui restent sous responsabilité fédérale.

Return to footnote1

Footnote 2

L’objectif de protection narratif du PASCF n’est pas destiné à être appliqué au moment de déterminer si un site est contaminé ou si un site est admissible à un financement par le PASCF, auquel cas les recommandations numériques du CCME propres aux milieux s’appliquent (CCME, 1999).

Return to footnote2

Footnote 3

Voir le bulletin d’avis du PASCF: Est-il possible d’appliquer des recommandations provinciales ou territoriales plutôt que les recommandations fédérales existantes?

Return to footnote3

Footnote 4

Les recommandations du CCME sur l’eau de surface et les sédiments ont un niveau de protection plus strict (c.‑à‑d, aucun effet) que l’objectif de protection du PASCF énoncé dans le présent bulletin d’avis, parce qu’elles ont été élaborées aux fins de prévention contre la pollution à des sites vierges. Par conséquent, les sites qui sont clos au moyen de l’approche « a) assainissement selon les recommandations du CCME » auront probablement des concentrations chimiques dans les sédiments et l’eau de surface inférieures au niveau requis pour le niveau requis pour la clôture du site du PASCF.

Return to footnote4