FCSAP Advisory Bulletin

How, when and why do I decommission a groundwater monitoring well?

PDF: 1.85 MB

Background

Typical environmental site investigations at known or suspected federal contaminated sites involve the installation of groundwater monitoring wells for the purpose of determining the fate and transport of contaminants of concern through the sampling of groundwater, the measurement of groundwater levels and the determination of groundwater flow directions.

Most jurisdictions in Canada have guidelines and procedures outlining proper groundwater monitoring well installations. The majority of environmental site investigation and remediation plans incorporate these guidelines and procedures into their workplans. In addition to an installation and sampling plan for groundwater monitoring wells at contaminated sites, a proper decommissioning of monitoring wells should be incorporated into the workplans. Groundwater monitoring wells that are no longer in use or damaged can be conduits for contamination to aquifer(s) and soil. Aquifers are a vital resource for Canadians as a source for drinking water, irrigation water and for replenishing surface water; therefore they require appropriate management and protection.

Standard Approach

Groundwater monitoring wells should be decommissioned if they are no longer required for the following reasons;

  • the site is closed and no longer monitored;
  • the monitoring wells are no longer required for site investigation or remedial purposes; and/or
  • the monitoring wells have been compromised or damaged.

Some jurisdictions in Canada have set out guidelines for the purposes of decommissioning groundwater monitoring wells (e.g. Atlantic Risk Based Corrective Action (RBCA) and Newfoundland and Labrador). In addition, some jurisdictions have regulations that require proper decommissioning of water wells (e.g. British Columbia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Yukon). Groundwater monitoring wells are covered under definition of water wells in these regulations. Most of the guidelines and procedures provided by jurisdictions in Canada generally emulate the procedures outlined in the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International document Standard Guide for Decommissioning of Groundwater Wells, Vadose Zone Monitoring Devices, Boreholes, and other Devices for Environmental Activities (ASTM D5299 - 99(2012)e1).

Decommissioning of groundwater monitoring wells should be an integral part of the overall site environmental plan at federal contaminated sites, and it is recommended that custodians follow the guidelines in the ASTM D5299-99(2012)e1 document.

 

Disclaimer

FCSAP Expert Support provides the above information in accordance with the FCSAP and associated guidelines and policies including our mandate under the Fisheries Act subsection 36(3). This is in no way to be interpreted as any type of approval, authorization, or release from requirements to comply with federal statutes and regulations. If you have any questions or concerns, please e-mail: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, or contact your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

References:

ASTM D5299 – 99(2012)e1 Standard Guide for Decommissioning of Groundwater Wells, Vadose Zone Monitoring Devices, Boreholes, and other Devices for Environmental Activities

Atlantic Risk Based Corrective Action (RBCA) – Monitoring well Decommissioning Fact Sheet January 2007

British Columbia Water’s Act – Ground Water Protection Regulation – amendment BC Reg 91/2009 March 6, 2009 – Section 9

New Brunswick Water Well Regulation – Clean Water Act (90-79) Section 27

Newfoundland Department of the Environment and Conservation – Guidance Document for the Management of Impacted Sites – Revised date: January 29, 2014

Ontario Water Well Regulation 903, RRO 1990 – Ontario Water resources Act, Section 21

Yukon Government Environment Act – Contaminated Sites Regulation – Protocol No. 7 – Groundwater Monitoring Well Installation, Sampling and Decommissioning, OIC 2002/171

Bulletin d’avis du PASCF

Comment, quand et pourquoi dois-je mettre hors service un puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines?

PDF : 1.81 MB

Contexte

Dans le cadre d'une étude environnementale de site type effectuée à des sites contaminés fédéraux connus ou soupçonnés d'être contaminés, des puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines sont installés afin de déterminer le sort et le transport des contaminants préoccupants par l'échantillonnage, la mesure des niveaux et la détermination des directions des eaux souterraines.

La plupart des compétences au Canada ont des lignes directrices et des procédures décrivant des installations adéquates de puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines. La plupart des études environnementales de sites et des plans d'assainissement intègrent ces lignes directrices et procédures dans leurs plans de travail. En plus d'un plan d'installation et d'échantillonnage des puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines aux sites contaminés, une mise hors service adéquate de ces puits devrait être intégrée aux plans de travail. Les puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines qui ne sont plus utilisés ou qui sont endommagés peuvent être des conduits de contamination des aquifères et du sol. Les aquifères sont une ressource essentielle pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à titre de source d'eau potable, d'eau d'irrigation et pour réapprovisionner l'eau de surface; ils nécessitent donc une gestion et une protection appropriées.

Approche normalisée

Les puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines devraient être mis hors service s'ils ne sont plus requis pour les raisons suivantes :

  • le site est fermé et n’est plus surveillé;
  • les puits de surveillance ne sont plus requis pour l’étude du site ou à des fins d’assainissement;
  • les puits de surveillance ont été compromis ou endommagés.

Certaines compétences du Canada ont établi des lignes directrices aux fins de mise hors service des puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines (p. ex., Risk Based Corrective Action (RBCA) de l'Atlantique et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). De plus, certaines compétences ont mis en place des règlements qui exigent une mise hors service adéquate des puits (p. ex., la Colombie-Britannique, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l'Ontario et le Yukon). Dans ces règlements, les puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines sont compris dans la définition de puits d'eau. La majorité des lignes directrices et des procédures fournies par les compétences au Canada sont généralement fondées sur les procédures présentées dans le document d'American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International Standard Guide for Decommissioning of Groundwater Wells, Vadose Zone Monitoring Devices, Boreholes, and other Devices for Environmental Activities (ASTM D5299 - 99(2012)e1).

La mise hors service des puits de surveillance des eaux souterraines devrait faire partie intégrante du plan environnemental global de site pour les sites contaminés fédéraux, et on recommande que les gardiens suivent les lignes directrices dans le document mentionné précédemment (ASTM D5299-99(2012)e1).

 

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le soutien expert du Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) fournit les renseignements ci dessus conformément au PASCF et aux directives et politiques connexes, y compris notre mandat en vertu du paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur les pêches. Ces renseignements ne doivent en aucun cas être interprétés comme un type d’approbation, d’autorisation, ou de soustraction aux exigences de se conformer aux lois et aux règlements fédéraux. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, envoyez un courriel à l’adresse : fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca ou communiquez avec le soutien expert du PASCF de votre région.

Références :

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) D5299 - 99(2012)e1 Standard Guide for Decommissioning of Groundwater Wells, Vadose Zone Monitoring Devices, Boreholes, and other Devices for Environmental Activities

Risk Based Corrective Action (RBCA) de l’Atlantique – Monitoring well Decommissioning Fact Sheet January 2007

British Columbia Water's Act - Ground Water Protection Regulation - amendment BC Reg 91/2009 le 6 mars 2009 - Article 9

New Brunswick Water Well RegulationClean Water Act (90-79) Article 27

Newfoundland Department of the Environment and Conservation – Guidance Document for the Management of Impacted Sites – Révisé le: 29 janvier 2014

Règlement sur les puits d’eau 903, LRO 1990 – Loi sur la protection de l’environnement, Article 21

Yukon Government Environment ActContaminated Sites Regulation – Protocol No. 7 – Groundwater Monitoring Well Installation, Sampling and Decommissioning, OIC 2002/171