Skip booklet index and go to page content

Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan Annual Report 2008-2009

Executive Summary

FY 2008-09 at a glance

$210
million in total FCSAP expenditures, including federal contaminated sites projects, program management, and secretariat/expert support services
$165
million in FCSAP funds spent on remediation / risk management projects
$24
million in federal custodian funds spent on remediation / risk management projects funded under FCSAP
$23
million in FCSAP funds spent on assessment projects
$6.8
million in custodian funds spent on assessment projects
322
priority remediation / risk management projects funded
744
assessment projects funded

The Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) is a collaborative effort by federal departments, agencies, and consolidated Crown corporations ("custodians") to identify, assess and prioritize the management of federal contaminated sites based on the level of risk posed to human health and the environment.

Originally developed in response to the 2004 federal budget commitment of $3.5 billion, the FCSAP is a 15-year cost-shared program that provides a mechanism to accelerate the remediation or risk management of priority federal contaminated sites. The FCSAP expands on the previous Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan (FCSAAP) which ran during 2003-04 and 2004-05. Prior to these years the majority of departments and agencies collectively reallocated up to $100 million per year1 from other priorities to risk-manage and/or to remediate their federal contaminated sites.

In its fourth year of operation (2008-09), expenditures were reported nationally by 15 custodians for 322 remediation / risk management projects (consisting of 464 sites where FCSAP funded activity was undertaken) and 744 assessment projects (consisting of 1,955 sites where activity was undertaken). These projects included the cleanup of sites contaminated as a result of past practices where the environmental consequences at the time were not understood as well as they are today. These sites include harbours and ports, military bases, former Distant Early Warning (DEW) line sites, lightstations, and abandoned mines.

A Formative Evaluation of the FCSAP program was completed during this year, with positive results. This evaluation provided an opportunity to assess the appropriateness of the design and delivery of FCSAP. A number of recommendations were made which targeted improvements to program implementation. As part of its March 2008 Status Report, the Commissioner of Environment and Sustainable Development released a chapter on federal contaminated sites. The report looked at the progress made since 2002 by four departments in dealing with contaminated sites under their responsibility, as well as the central leadership that had been provided by Environment Canada and the Treasury Board Secretariat on this file. The findings from this report indicate that the government made positive progress in contaminated sites management.

In 2008, the federal contaminated sites web portal was launched to provide information related to the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan to the public and stakeholders (custodians and environmental technology companies and consultants). Although the entire web site is available to both audiences, one portion is intended to provide general information to the public, while the other is intended to provide a single window to those interested in obtaining more detailed technical information on contaminated sites.

In 2008-09, $210 million of FCSAP funds were spent on federal contaminated sites projects, program management, and secretariat/expert support services. In addition to the FCSAP funds, and in recognition of the Government of Canada’s “polluter pays” principle, departments contributed $31 million in funding. Of the total amount spent, the greatest proportion of the funds ($188 million) went towards the actual assessment and remediation / risk management of federal contaminated sites. Program management and expert support services accounted for approximately 10% ($22 million) of the funds spent.

As of March 31, 2009, a liability of $3.2 billion was recorded for approximately 2,000 contaminated sites, compared with a liability of $3.3 billion for 2,360 sites in 2008.2 This decrease in federal environmental liability is primarily attributed to changes recorded to planned cost estimates for remediation activities of large projects and the fact that spending on remediation / risk management activities reduces the liability, leading to the ultimate closure of sites. Continued work on all types of FCSAP projects will result in further refinement of liability estimates, and total liability is expected to decline in the future as sites are remediated.

If you have questions or comments on this report please contact:

FCSAP Secretariat
Contaminated Sites Division
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 17th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Tel: 819-934-2155 / Fax: 819-994-0502
Email: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca


Notes

1 Taking Action on Federal Contaminated Sites: An Environmental and Economic Priority (Environment Canada, July 2005), p. ii.

2 Public Accounts of Canada 2009 (Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2009), S.5, p.5.12.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux – Rapport annuel 2008-2009

Coup d’œil sur l’EF 2008-2009

210
millions de dollars de dépenses totales pour le PASCF, y compris des projets touchant les sites fédéraux contaminés, la gestion du programme, les services de secrétariat et de soutien des experts
165
millions de dollars en fonds du PASCF affectés à des projets d’assainissement et de gestion du risque
24
millions de dollars en fonds de garde fédéraux affectés à des projets d’assainissement et de gestion du risque dans le cadre du PASCF
23
millions de dollars en fonds du PASCF affectés à des projets d’évaluation
6,8
millions de dollars en fonds de garde affectés à des projets d’évaluation
322
projets prioritaires d'assainissement et de gestion du risque bénéficiant d'un financement
744
projets d’évaluation financés

Le Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) est une initiative commune prise par les ministères fédéraux, les agences et les sociétés d’État consolidées (« gardiens ») visant à déterminer, à évaluer et à prioriser la gestion des sites fédéraux contaminés en fonction du niveau de risque que ceux-ci représentent pour la santé humaine et l’environnement.

Élaboré au départ pour répondre à l’engagement budgétaire du gouvernement fédéral pris en 2004 selon lequel il investirait  3,5 milliards de dollars, le PASCF est un programme à frais partagés d’une durée de 15 ans qui établit un mécanisme visant à accélérer l’assainissement ou la gestion du risque des sites fédéraux contaminés prioritaires. Le PASCF s’inspire du précédent Plan d’action accéléré pour les lieux fédéraux contaminés (PAALFC) (utilisé en 2003-2004 et 2004-2005). Avant la création du PAALFC, la majorité des ministères et des organismes réaffectaient collectivement jusqu’à 100 millions de dollars par année1 provenant d’autres priorités à l’assainissement et à la gestion du risque de leurs sites contaminés.

Pendant la quatrième année du plan (2008-2009), 15 gardiens ont déclaré chaque année des dépenses pour 322 projets d’assainissement et de gestion du risque (pour 464 sites où des activités financées dans le cadre du PASCF se déroulaient) et pour 744 projets d’évaluation (pour 1 955 sites où des activités se déroulaient). Ces projets englobaient le nettoyage des sites contaminés par les pratiques antérieures lorsque les conséquences sur l’environnement à l’époque n’étaient pas encore connues comme elles le sont aujourd’hui. Ces sites englobent les suivants : havres et ports, bases militaires, anciennes stations du RAPA, stations de phare et mines désaffectées.

Une évaluation formative du programme relatif au PASCF a été achevée au cours de cette année avec des résultats positifs. Cette évaluation a permis d’évaluer la pertinence de la conception et de la prestation du PASCF. Un certain nombre de recommandations ont été formulées visant à améliorer la mise en œuvre du programme.

Dans le cadre de ce rapport d’étape, daté de mars 2008, le commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable a préparé un chapitre sur les sites contaminés fédéraux. Le rapport a examiné les progrès réalisés par quatre ministères depuis 2002 dans le traitement des sites contaminés sous leur responsabilité ainsi que le rôle de chefs de file assurés par Environnement Canada et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor dans ce dossier. Les conclusions de ce rapport indiquent que le gouvernement a fait des progrès positifs dans la gestion des sites contaminés.

Le portail Web des sites contaminés fédéraux a été lancé. Ce site Web est destiné à fournir des information liées au Plan d'action accéléré pour les lieux contaminés fédéraux aux membres du public et aux intervenants (les gardiens et les entreprises de technologie environnementale et les consultants). Bien que l'ensemble du site est disponible à la fois au public et aux intervenants, une partie est destinée à fournir des renseignements généraux au public, tandis que l'autre partie est destinée à fournir un guichet unique aux personnes intéressées à obtenir plus d'informations techniques sur les sites contaminés.

En 2008-2009, 210 millions de dollars de fonds du PASCF ont été dépensés pour plusieurs projets de sites contaminés fédéraux, la gestion de programmes et les services de secrétariat et de soutien des experts. En plus des fonds du PASCF et conformément au principe du « pollueur-payeur » du gouvernement du Canada, les ministères ont versé 31 millions de dollars de financement. Du montant total dépensé, la plus grande portion des fonds (188 millions de dollars) a été attribuée à l’évaluation réelle ainsi qu’à l’assainissement et à la gestion du risque des sites contaminés fédéraux. La gestion du programme et les services de soutien des experts représentaient environ 10 % (22 millions de dollars) des fonds dépensés.

En date du 31 mars 2009, un passif de 3,2 milliards de dollars a été inscrit pour environ 2 000 sites contaminés, comparativement à un passif de 3,3 milliards de dollars pour 2 360 sites en 20082. Cette baisse du passif environnemental fédéral est principalement attribuable aux changements survenus dans les estimations de coûts prévus pour les activités d’assainissement des projets de grande envergure. Elle est aussi attribuable au fait que les dépenses des activités d’assainissement et de gestion du risque diminuent le passif entraînant la fermeture de sites. La poursuite des travaux liés à tout type de projets du PASCF permettra de peaufiner les prévisions en matière de passif, et le passif total devrait diminuer au fur et à mesure de l’assainissement des sites au cours des années à venir.

Pour toute question ou tout commentaire sur ce rapport, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Secrétariat du PASCF
Division des sites contaminés
Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 17e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Tél. : 819-934-2155/Téléc. : 819-994-0502
Courriel : fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca


Notes

1 Agir pour assainir les sites contaminés fédéraux : une priorité environnementale et économique (Environnement Canada, juillet 2005), p. ii.

2 Comptes publics du Canada 2009 (Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, 2009), S. 5, p. 5.12.

Table des matières