Skip booklet index and go to page content

Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan Annual Report 2007-2008

January 21, 2010

Executive Summary

The Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) is a collaborative effort by federal departments, agencies, and consolidated Crown corporations ("custodians") to identify, assess and prioritize the remediation or risk management of federal contaminated sites based on the level of risk posed to human health and the environment.

Originally developed in response to the 2004 federal budget commitment of $3.5 billion in multi-year funding, the FCSAP is a 15-year cost-shared program that provides a mechanism to accelerate the remediation or risk management of priority federal contaminated sites. The FCSAP expands on the previous Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan (FCSAAP) (which ran during 2003-04 and 2004-05), prior to which the majority of departments and agencies collectively reallocated up to $100 million per year1 from other priorities to risk-manage and/or remediate their federal contaminated sites.

In its third year of operation (2007-08), expenditures were reported nationally by 15 custodians for 276 remediation / risk management projects (consisting of 519 sites where activity was undertaken) and 590 assessment projects (consisting of 2269 sites where activity was undertaken). These projects included the cleanup of sites where the environmental consequences of past practices were not fully understood, including such sites as: harbours and ports, military bases, former Distant Early Warning (DEW) line sites, light stations, and abandoned mines.

FY 2007-08 at a glance:

$188.4 million in total FCSAP expenditures, including federal contaminated sites projects, program management, secretariat/expert support services, and PWGSC accommodation costs

$146.9 million in FCSAP funds spent on remediation/risk management projects

$19.2 million in federal custodian funds spent on remediation/risk management projects funded under FCSAP

$18.5 million in FCSAP funds spent on assessment projects

$6.1 million in custodian funds spent on assessment projects

276 priority remediation/risk management projects funded

2269 assessment sites funded (on 590 projects)

In 2007-08, $188.4 million of FCSAP funds were spent on federal contaminated sites projects, program management, secretariat/expert support services, and Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) accommodation costs. In addition to the FCSAP funds, and in adherence to the Government of Canada's "polluter pays" principle, custodians contributed $25.3 million in cost-share. Of the total amount spent ($213.7 million), the greatest proportion of the funds ($190.7 million) went towards the actual assessment and remediation / risk management of federal contaminated sites.

As of March 31, 2008, a liability of $3.332 billion was recorded for approximately 2360 contaminated sites, compared with a liability of $3.014 billion for 2630 sites in 20072. This increase in federal environmental liability is primarily attributed to changes recorded to planned cost estimates for remediation activities of large projects. It is also attributed to the fact that increased spending on assessment activities results in a more accurate estimate of liability, often leading to an increase. Continued work on all types of FCSAP projects will result in further refinement of liability estimates, and total liability is expected to decline as sites are remediated. If you have questions or comments on this report, or wish to obtain additional copies of this report, please contact:

FCSAP Secretariat
Contaminated Sites Division
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 15th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Tel: 819-934-2155 / Fax: 819-994-0502
Email: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca


[1] Environnement Canada. 2005. Agir pour assainir les sites contaminés fédéraux : une priorité environnementale et économique, Ottawa, p. ii.

[2] Comptes publics du Canada 2008; Volume 1, (TPSGC, 2008), S. 5, p. 5.12.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux – Rapport annuel 2007-2008

Le 21 janvier 2010

Résumé

Le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) est une initiative commune prise par les ministères fédéraux, les agences et les sociétés d'État consolidées (« gardiens ») visant à déterminer, à évaluer et à prioriser l'assainissement ou la gestion du risque des sites fédéraux contaminés en fonction du niveau de risque que ceux ci représentent pour la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Initialement mis au point pour répondre à l'engagement budgétaire du gouvernement fédéral pris en 2004 selon lequel il investirait 3,5 milliards de dollars sur plusieurs années, le PASCF est un programme à frais partagés d'une durée de 15 ans qui établit des mécanismes permettant d'accélérer l'assainissement ou la gestion des risques dans les sites contaminés fédéraux prioritaires. Le PASCF s'inspire du précédent Plan d'action accéléré pour les lieux fédéraux contaminés (PAALFC) (utilisé en 2003 2004 et 2004 2005). Avant la création du PAALFC, la majorité des ministères et des agences réaffectaient collectivement jusqu'à 100 millions de dollars par année1 provenant d'autres priorités à la gestion des risques associés aux sites contaminés, ou à leur assainissement.

Pendant la troisième année du plan (2007-2008), 15 gardiens ont déclaré chaque année des dépenses pour 276 projets d'assainissement et de gestion du risque (pour 519 sites où des activités se déroulaient) et pour 590 projets d'assainissement (pour 2 269 sites où des activités se déroulaient). Ces projets visaient le nettoyage de sites où les conséquences environnementales des pratiques antérieures n'étaient pas bien comprises, notamment les suivants : havres et ports, bases militaires, anciennes stations du Réseau avancé de pré alerte (RAPA), stations de phare et mines désaffectées.

Aperçu de l'exercice 2007-2008

188,4 millions de dollars de dépenses totales pour le PASCF, y compris des projets touchant les sites fédéraux contaminés, la gestion du programme, les services de secrétariat et de soutien des experts ainsi que les coûts des locaux de TPSGC

146,9 millions de dollars provenant des fonds du PASCF dépensés pour l'assainissement et la gestion du risque

19,2 millions de dollars provenant des fonds des ministères gardiens affectés aux projets d'assainissement et de gestion du risque financés en vertu du PASCF

18,5 millions de dollars provenant des fonds du PASCF dépensés pour des projets d'évaluation

6,1 millions de dollars provenant des fonds des ministères gardiens dépensés pour des projets d'évaluation

276 projets prioritaires d'assainissement et de gestion du risque financés

2 269 sites d'évaluation financés (dans le cadre de 590 projets)

En 2007-2008, 188,4 millions de dollars de fonds du PASCF ont été dépensés pour plusieurs projets de sites contaminés fédéraux, la gestion de programmes, les services de secrétariat et de soutien des experts et les coûts des locaux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). En plus des fonds du PASCF et conformément au principe du « pollueur payeur » du gouvernement du Canada, les ministères gardiens ont contribué aux frais à hauteur de 25,3 millions de dollars. Du montant total dépensé (213,7 millions de dollars), la plus grande portion des fonds (190,7 millions de dollars) a été attribuée à l'évaluation ainsi qu'à l'assainissement et à la gestion du risque des sites contaminés fédéraux.

En date du 31 mars 2008, un passif de 3,332 milliards de dollars a été inscrit pour environ 2 360 sites contaminés, comparativement à un passif de 3,014 milliards de dollars pour 2 630 sites en 2007 2. Cette hausse du passif environnemental fédéral est principalement attribuable aux changements survenus dans les estimations de coûts prévus pour les activités d'assainissement des projets de grande envergure. Elle est également attribuable au fait que les dépenses accrues des activités d'évaluation permettent de mieux évaluer le passif, ce qui entraâne souvent une augmentation. La poursuite des travaux concernant tout type de projets du PASCF permettra d'affiner davantage les prévisions en matière de passif et le passif total devrait diminuer après l'assainissement des sites.

Pour toute question au sujet du présent rapport ou pour en obtenir des copies supplémentaires, communiquer avec :

Secrétariat du PASCF
Division des sites contaminés
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 15e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-934-2155
Télécopieur : 819-994-0502
Courriel : fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca


[1] Taking Action on Federal Contaminated Sites: An Environmental and Economic Priority (Environment Canada, July 2005), p. ii.

[2] Public Accounts of Canada 2008, Volume I (PWGSC, 2008), S. 5, p. 5.12.

Table des matières