FCSAP Advisory Bulletin

PDF: 1.83 MB

How do you address emerging or known contaminants for which no guideline currently exists?

Background

The presence of contaminants at a federal contaminated site is typically linked to specific historical activities that have occurred on, or adjacent to, the site. The Treasury Board's Policy on Management of Real Property defines a contaminated site as “[…] a site at which substances occur at concentrations (1) above background levels and pose or are likely to pose an immediate or long-term hazard to human health or the environment, or (2) exceeding levels specified in policies and regulations.

This document provides a standard approach for addressing contaminants for which there are no guidelines, objectives, criteria or other kinds of limits placed upon their presence or discharge into the natural environment. This may include: (i) emerging contaminantsFootnote 1 or (ii) known contaminants for which no guideline or standard exists at this time.

Standard Approach

For FCSAP-funded sites undergoing remediation, the federal custodian is responsible for addressing all contaminants that are the result of historical site activities if those contaminants are present in concentrations that could pose unacceptable risk to human health and/or ecological receptors.

Addressing the potential risk of a contaminant typically includes consideration of federal guidelines, or in the absence of federal guidelines, benchmarks from other jurisdictions (see suggested further reading FCSAP Advisory Bulletin - Can Provincial/Territorial Guidelines be applied in lieu of existing Federal Guidelines?).

For both emerging and known contaminants that currently lack human health and/or environmental quality guidelines, standards, or criteria (i.e., both federally and from other jurisdictions), the custodian should consider evaluating these contaminants based upon comparison to adequately defined background concentrations, conducting evaluations of available toxicity studies and literature reviews, and/or consulting with academia or other researchers/departments with expertise pertaining to that specific class of contaminants (e.g., fire retardants, pesticides, steroids, hormones, pharmaceuticals). For further technical information regarding emerging contaminants, consult the list of "Suggested Further Reading" below.

An emerging or known contaminant of potential concern (COPC) cannot be excluded from a site investigation, or screened out of a human health or ecological risk assessment, on the basis that a guideline is not readily available.

Furthermore, regardless of the sources used to evaluate emerging contaminants (e.g., background concentrations, available toxicity studies, external expertise), the benchmarks established should offer the same level of protection that is inherent in Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) guidelines.

FCSAP Expert Support may be able to provide additional site-specific advice or information to address the issue of emerging contaminants at a federal contaminated site.

 

Disclaimer

FCSAP Expert Support provides the above information in accordance with the FCSAP and associated guidelines and policies.  This is in no way to be interpreted as any type of approval, authorization, or release from requirements to comply with federal statutes and regulations.  If you have any questions or concerns, please e-mail: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, or contact your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

References:

A Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites, Contaminated Sites Management Working Group (CSMWG), 1999.

Suggested Further Reading:

Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA), 1999. Toxic Substances List.

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA). A list of parameters that are of top concern based on frequency, toxicity, and potential for human exposure at US sites; this Priority List of Hazardous Substances may also include emerging contaminants.

Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC). Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan Database of Guidelines (FCSAP DoG). A compilation of benchmark values for chemicals in various media from numerous national and international jurisdictions. This database has been compiled to assist FCSAP Custodians in the absence of Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) guidelines. The FCSAP DoG has been published at data.gc.ca. The database and an accompanying report are also available upon request from Regional Environment Canada FCSAP Expert Support.

ECCC. Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance Program. An assessment of the presence of various emerging substances and their levels in selected ecosystems.

ETOX: Information System Ecotoxicology and Environmental Quality Targets. This German database contains information on various national and international environmental quality guidelines, targets, standards, criteria, and limit values.

FCSAP Advisory Bulletin - Can Provincial/Territorial Guidelines be applied in lieu of existing Federal Guidelines?  Available on the Interdepartmental Exchange Application (IDEA) Document Library, or by contacting fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, and/or your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines (FEQGs). Guidelines developed based upon hazards of specific chemical substances or groups of substances to ecological receptors. This may serve as a relevant resource with respect to the development of guidelines for flame retardants (e.g., PBDE and PFOS) and other classes of contaminant.

United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) lists unregulated contaminants which may require a national drinking water regulation in future. This Contaminant Candidate List (or CCL) is used to prioritize research and data collection efforts for unregulated contaminants, and to determine whether a specific (emerging) contaminant should be regulated in drinking water.

US EPA Office of Water. A literature inventory developed to identify research relevant to contaminants of emerging concern (CECs) in the environment. This CECs Removals Database stores and manages information from about 100 published scientific studies regarding the removal of over 200 CECs from water and wastewater.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Examples of emerging contaminants may include: flame retardants; estrogenic inhibitors; methylated naphthalenes; prions; nanomaterials; pharmaceutically active compounds; and numerous other classes of compounds. For further technical information regarding emerging contaminants, you may wish to consult the list of “Suggested Further Reading”. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list.

Return to footnote1

Bulletin d’Avis du PASCF

PDF: 1.80 MB

Comment gérer les contaminants émergents ou connus pour lesquels aucune recommandation n’existe actuellement?

Contexte

La présence de contaminants sur un site fédéral contaminé est généralement liée à des activités historiques précises qui ont eu lieu sur le site ou à proximité. La Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor définit un site contaminé comme un « (…) site dans lequel la concentration des substances nocives (1) est supérieure au niveau naturel et pose, ou risque de poser, un danger immédiat ou à long terme à la santé humaine ou à l'environnement, ou (2) dépasse les niveaux indiqués dans les politiques et les règlements. »

Le présent document propose une approche standard pour traiter les contaminants pour lesquels aucune recommandation, aucun objectif ou critère, ou aucune autre limite n’existe relativement à leur présence ou leur rejet dans le milieu naturel. Cela comprend : (i) les contaminants émergentsFootnote 1 ou (ii) les contaminants connus pour lesquels aucune recommandation ou norme n’existe à l’heure actuelle.

Approche standard

Pour les projets financés par le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) pour des travaux d'assainissement, le gardien fédéral est responsable de traiter tous les contaminants qui découlent des activités historiques sur le site si ces contaminants sont présents dans des concentrations qui pourraient présenter un danger non acceptable pour la santé humaine et/ou les récepteurs écologiques.

Traiter le risque potentiel d'un contaminant comprend généralement l'examen des recommandations fédérales, ou en l'absence de celles-ci, des valeurs de références d'autres juridictions (voir le bulletin d'Avis du PASCF – Est-il possible d’appliquer des recommandations provinciales ou territoriales plutôt que les recommandations fédérales existantes? dans les autres lectures suggérées).

Pour les contaminants émergents et connus pour lesquels il n'existe pas de recommandations, de normes ou de critères en matière de santé humaine et/ou de qualité de l'environnement (c.-à-d. tant à l'échelle fédérale que dans d'autres juridictions), le gardien devrait envisager d'évaluer ces contaminants sur la base d'une comparaison pour en définir adéquatement les concentrations de fond, d'effectuer des évaluations des études de toxicité disponibles et des examens de la littérature, et/ou de contacter le milieu universitaire ou d'autres chercheurs ou facultés possédant l'expertise pertinente à cette classe précises de contaminants (par exemple, les agents ignifuges, les pesticides, les stéroïdes, les hormones, les produits pharmaceutiques). Pour obtenir plus d'information technique sur les contaminants émergents, veuillez consulter la liste des autres lectures suggérées ci-dessous.

Un contaminant émergent ou un contaminant potentiellement préoccupant (CPP) connu ne peut être exclu d'une évaluation de site ou d'une évaluation des risques écologiques ou pour la santé humaine au seul motif que des lignes directrices ne sont pas disponibles.

En outre, indépendamment des sources utilisées pour évaluer les contaminants émergents (par exemple, les concentrations de fond, les études disponibles, les expertises externes), les points de référence établis devraient offrir le même niveau de protection inhérent aux recommandations du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME).

Le soutien expert du PASCF peut présenter d'autres conseils ou informations propres aux sites afin de répondre à la question des contaminants émergents sur un site fédéral contaminé.

 

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le soutien expert du PASCF fournit l'information ci-dessus conformément au PASCF et aux directives et aux politiques connexes. Le présent document ne doit en aucun cas être interprété comme une forme d'approbation, d'autorisation ou de dispense des exigences à respecter les lois et règlements fédéraux, quelle qu'elle soit. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez envoyer un courriel à fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca ou communiquer avec le soutien expert du PASCF de votre région.

Références

Groupe de travail sur la gestion des lieux contaminés (GTGLC). Approche fédérale en matière de lieux contaminés, 1999

Suggestions de lectures supplémentaires :

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE), 1999. Liste des substances toxiques.

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA). Une liste de paramètres représentant les principales préoccupations selon la fréquence, la toxicité et le potentiel d'exposition humaine sur les sites aux États-Unis. Cette liste de priorités des substances dangereuses peut également comprendre de nouveaux contaminants.

Environnement et changement climatique Canada (ECCC). Base de données des recommandations du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux. Une compilation des valeurs de référence pour les produits chimiques dans divers médias de nombreuses juridictions nationales et internationales. Cette base de données a été compilée pour aider les gardiens du PASCF en l'absence de recommandations du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME). La base de données de recommandations environnementales a été publiée sur donnees.qc.ca. La base de données et un rapport sont également disponibles sur demande auprès du soutien expert du PASCF d'Environnement Canada de votre région.

ECCC. Programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau. Une évaluation de la présence de diverses substances émergentes et de leurs niveaux dans certains écosystèmes.

ETOX: Information System Ecotoxicology and Environmental Quality Targets. Cette base de données allemande contient de l'information sur divers objectifs, recommandations, normes, valeurs limites et critères nationaux et internationaux en matière de qualité de l'environnement.

Bulletin d'Avis du PASCF (BAP) - Est-il possible d'appliquer des recommandations provinciales ou territoriales plutôt que les recommandations fédérales existantes? On peut se le procurer sur le Portail des sites contaminés fédéraux, en écrivant à fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca ou en communiquant avec le soutien expert du PASCF de votre région.

Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement. Recommandations élaborées selon les dangers de substances chimiques spécifiques ou de groupes de substances sur les récepteurs écologiques. Elles peuvent servir comme ressource pertinente pour l'élaboration de recommandations relatives aux retardateurs de flamme (par exemple, PBDE et SPFO) et d'autres catégories de contaminants.

L'Agence de protection de l'environnement des États-Unis (US EPA) a fait la liste des contaminants non réglementés qui pourraient nécessiter une réglementation nationale en matière d'eau potable à l'avenir. Cette liste de contaminants possibles est utilisée pour prioriser les efforts de recherche et de collecte de données des contaminants non réglementés, et pour déterminer si un contaminant particulier (émergent) doit être réglementé pour l'eau potable.

US EPA Office of Water. Un inventaire de la littérature publiée pour identifier les travaux de recherche pertinents portant sur les contaminants nouvellement préoccupants dans l'environnement. Cette base de données d'assainissement des contaminants nouvellement préoccupants stocke et gère l'information provenant de plus de 100 études scientifiques publiées au sujet de l'assainissement de plus de 200 contaminants nouvellement préoccupants dans l'eau et les eaux usées.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Voici certains exemples de contaminants émergents : les retardateurs de flamme, les inhibiteurs oestrogéniques, les naphtalènes méthylés, les les prions, les nanomatériaux, les composés pharmaceutiquement actifs et de nombreuses autres classes de composés. Pour obtenir plus d'information technique sur les contaminants émergents, vous pouvez consulter la liste des « Autres lectures suggérées ». Veuillez noter que cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

Return to footnote1