FCSAP Advisory Bulletin

PDF: 1.85 MB

What if a contaminated site with unacceptable ecological risk cannot be remediated or risk managed?

Background

Once a federal site is considered contaminatedFootnote 1, a federal custodian may implement either of the options outlined belowFootnote 2.

  1. A Remediation Strategy that uses one of the following approaches to remediate (i.e. remove or reduce contamination):
    • The Guideline Approach to meet the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) Tier 1 or Tier 2 remediation objectivesFootnote 3; or,
    • The Risk Assessment Approach to assess if contamination poses, or is likely to pose, an immediate or long-term hazard to human health or the environment and, if necessary, develop and meet Site Specific Target Levels (CCME Tier 3).
  2. A Risk Management Strategy that integrates the remediation strategy (above) with technical, political, legal, social and economic considerations to develop risk reduction and prevention strategies, thereby minimizing exposure to contamination.

Human health and ecological risk assessments help to inform whether, and to what extent, remediation and/or other risk management measures are warranted. If a detailed (or more refined) risk assessment establishes that existing contamination poses an unacceptable risk to human or ecological receptors at the site, contamination must be addressed via remediation (e.g., excavation) and/or risk management activities (e.g., engineering controls).

Standard Approach

The standard approach outlined below should only be applied to contaminated sites that have:

  • Undergone a detailed (or more refined) risk assessment; or
  • Considered innovative, feasible approaches to remediation/risk management.

When unacceptable ecological risk at a FCSAP site cannot be resolved through remediation or risk management activities, further FCSAP expenditures may not be warranted and site closure may not be possible.

In the case of a FCSAP contaminated site with unacceptable residual ecological risk, all site documentation should clearly outline:

  • The course of action taken at the site to date;
  • The risks remaining at the site (e.g., nature of contamination, receptors of concern);
  • A cost-benefit analysis and/or rationale as to why no further activities to reduce these risks will be undertaken.

Please note that while a site with unacceptable residual risk may not be able to achieve site closure, the FCSAP Site Closure Tool may still assist Federal Custodians in capturing the information above, in addition to other site-specific details.  

For additional guidance on how to address FCSAP sites where site closure is not possible (e.g., due to ongoing sources of contamination, or financial/technical constraints), the custodian may wish to contact their Departmental Headquarter Lead to discuss the path forward at the site (e.g., as it pertains to residual liability, safety concerns, ongoing monitoring).

The custodian should seek advice from FCSAP Regional Expert Support Departments who may provide additional site-specific comments in order to address contamination and unacceptable residual risk at these sites.

The custodian should also inform FCSAP Regional Expert Support Departments should site closure not be possible, and contact the FCSAP Secretariat in order to discuss the status of this site with regard to the FCSAP Priority List.

 

Disclaimer

FCSAP Expert Support provides the above information in accordance with the FCSAP and associated guidelines and policies.  This is in no way to be interpreted as any type of approval, authorization, or release from requirements to comply with federal statutes and regulations.  If you have any questions or concerns, please e-mail: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca, or contact your regional FCSAP Expert Support.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As per Treasury Board’s Policy on Management of Real Property a Contaminated Site is “a site at which substances occur at concentrations that: (1) are above background levels and pose, or are likely to pose, an immediate or long-term hazard to human health or the environment, or (2) exceed the levels specified in policies and regulations.”

Return to footnote1

Footnote 2

See Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites, 1999.  This document was developed by the Contaminated Sites Management Working Group (CSMWG).

Return to footnote2

Footnote 3

Please refer to FCSAP Advisory Bulletin - How clean does a contaminated site need to be to achieve acceptable protection of ecological receptors for subsequent site closure? (in Draft) for additional information on setting remediation targets consistent with the intent (level of protection) inherent in the CCME guidelines.

Return to footnote3

Bulletin d’Avis du PASCF

PDF: 1.81 MB

Que faire si on ne peut assainir un site contaminé comportant un risque écotoxicologique non acceptable ou en gérer le risque?

Contexte

Lorsqu'un site fédéral est jugé contaminéFootnote 1, un gardien fédéral peut mettre en place une des options décrites ci-dessousFootnote 2.

  1. Une stratégie d’assainissement se fondant sur l'une des approches suivantes pour remédier à la situation (c.-à-d. décontaminer ou réduire la contamination) :
    • Une approche axée sur les directives pour respecter les objectifs d'assainissement de niveau 1 ou de niveau 2 du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME)Footnote 3;
    • Une approche d’évaluation du risque pour déterminer si la contamination présente, ou peut présenter, un danger immédiat ou à long terme pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement et, au besoin, déterminer et atteindre des niveaux cibles propres au site (niveau 3 du CCME).
  2. Une stratégie de gestion du risque qui intègre cette stratégie d'assainissement aux considérations techniques, politiques, juridiques, sociales et économiques afin d'élaborer des stratégies de réduction et de prévention du risque et ainsi réduire l'exposition à la contamination.

Les évaluations du risque écotoxicologique et pour la santé humaine contribuent d'une part à déterminer si des mesures d'assainissement et/ou de gestion du risque sont nécessaires et d'autre part l'ampleur de telles mesures. Si une évaluation du risque détaillée (ou plus précise) établit que la contamination actuelle présente un risque inacceptable pour les récepteurs humains ou écologiques sur le site, la contamination doit être traitée par l'entremise d'activités d'assainissement (par exemple, l'excavation) et/ou de gestion du risque (par exemple, des contrôles d'ingénierie).

Approche standard

L'approche standard décrite ci-dessous ne doit être mise en pratique que sur les sites qui ont :

  • fait l’objet d’une évaluation détaillée (ou plus précise) du risque;
  • envisagé des approches novatrices et réalistes pour la gestion du risque et l’assainissement.

Lorsque le risque écotoxicologique sur un site du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) est inacceptable mais ne peut être réduit par la réalisation d'activités d'assainissement ou de gestion du risque, des dépenses supplémentaires du PASCF ne sont pas toujours recommandées et la fermeture du site peut ne pas être possible.

Dans le cas d'un site contaminé du PASCF présentant un risque écotoxicologique résiduel non acceptable, toute la documentation relative au site doit indiquer :

  • Les mesures prises sur le site à ce jour;
  • Le risque résiduel sur le site (par exemple, la nature de la contamination, les récepteurs touchés);
  • L’analyse coûts-avantages et/ou les motifs qui expliquent l’arrêt de toute activité visant à réduire ce risque.

Veuillez noter que bien qu'un site présentant un risque résiduel non acceptable ne puisse être fermé, l'outil de fermeture des sites du PASCF peut aider les gardiens fédéraux à consigner l'information ci-dessus en plus d'autres renseignements propres au site.

Pour obtenir des directives supplémentaires sur la façon de traiter les sites du PASCF où la fermeture n'est pas possible (par exemple, en raison de sources de contamination continues ou de contraintes financières ou techniques), le gardien peut contacter le responsable de l'administration centrale de son ministère pour discuter des mesures à prendre sur le site (par exemple, sur le plan de la responsabilité résiduelle, les préoccupations en matière de sécurité, la surveillance continue).

Le gardien doit s'enquérir auprès des ministères experts du PASCF de sa région qui pourront fournir des commentaires supplémentaires propres aux sites afin d'aborder la contamination et le risque résiduel non acceptable sur ces sites.

Le gardien doit également informer les ministères experts du PASCF de sa région s'il s'avère impossible de fermer un site et doit communiquer avec le secrétariat du PASCF pour discuter du statut dudit site relativement à la liste de priorités du PASCF.

 

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le soutien expert du PASCF fournit l’information ci-dessus conformément au PASCF et aux directives et aux politiques connexes. Le présent document ne doit en aucun cas être interprété comme une forme d’approbation, d’autorisation ou de dispense des exigences à respecter les lois et règlements fédéraux, quelle qu’elle soit. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez envoyer un courriel fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca ou communiquer avec le soutien d’experts du PASCF de votre région.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor, un site contaminé est un « site où l’on trouve des substances nocives dont la concentration (1) est supérieure au niveau naturel et pose, ou risque de poser, un danger immédiat ou à long terme pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement, ou (2) dépasse les niveaux indiqués dans les politiques et les règlements. »

Return to footnote1

Footnote 2

Voir Approche fédérale en matière de sites contaminés (Groupe de travail sur la gestion des lieux contaminés [GTGLC], 1999).

Return to footnote2

Footnote 3

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur l’établissement d’objectifs d’assainissement conformes aux objectifs inhérents (niveaux de protection) des lignes directrices du CCME, se référer au bulletin d’Avis du PASCF : Dans quelle mesure un site contaminé doit-il être décontaminé afin d’obtenir une protection acceptable des récepteurs écologiques en vue de la fermeture subséquente du site? (Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux [PASCF], version provisoire) .

Return to footnote3